Posted by - Mon, May. 2, 2011 - [ Baseball ] - Viewed 1551 times
Omar Artsen helped lead Missouri Baptist to the 2011 AMC regular-season baseball championship
Omar Artsen helped lead Missouri Baptist to the 2011 AMC regular-season baseball championship
(LEBANON, Ill., May 3)-The American Midwest Conference announced the members of its 2011 All-Conference baseball team Tuesday following the conclusion of the 2011 AMC Tournament on the campus of Missouri Baptist University in St. Louis. The awards were voted upon by the league's seven head baseball coaches.

Omar Artsen, a senior second baseman for Missouri Baptist University, has been selected as the 2011 AMC Player of the Year. Artsen, who hails from Maspeth, N.Y., batted .390 during the regular season with two home runs and 24 RBI. Artsen also stole 27 bases in 32 attempts for the Spartans. Artsen is the second Missouri Baptist player in as many years to earn the honor for the AMC's top player. Matt Holliman grabbed the 2010 award for the Spartans.

The 2011 AMC Pitcher of the Year award was claimed by Drew Firebaugh of Missouri Baptist University. Firebaugh, a senior left-hander from Centennial, Colo., put together some stellar numbers during the 2011 regular season. He was 8-1 with a 1.34 earned-run average. In 67 innings of work, Firebaugh walked just 14 batters while striking out 64. Opponents batted just .198 off Firebaugh.

Derek McCawley of William Woods University earned the 2011 AMC Newcomer Player of the Year award. McCawley, a junior first baseman from Mesa, Ariz., posted a batting average of .336 prior to the AMC Tournament with five home runs and 41 RBI. In addition, McCawley registered 13 doubles on the year.

Missouri Baptist junior Aaron Matula was named the 2011 AMC Newcomer Pitcher of the Year. Matula, a native of Spring, Texas, pitched in 15 games out of the bullpen for the Spartans, going 1-1 with five saves. He also had an ERA of 1.78 and allowed just two extra-base hits during the year. Matula struck out 34 batters in 30.1 innings of work prior to the conference tournament.

The AMC Freshman Player of the Year for 2011 is Rob Hogenkamp of Harris-Stowe State University. Hogenkamp, a shortstop from St. Louis, Mo., hit .363 for the Hornets with eight doubles, five home runs and 31 runs batted in. Hogenkamp also showed off his speed during his rookie season, stealing 24 bases in 29 attempts.

Adam Brush of William Woods University is the 2011 honoree as the AMC Freshman Pitcher of the Year. Brush, a right-hander from Ashland, Mo., went 4-3 with a 3.24 ERA during his first season with the Owls. He registered one complete game and struck out 46 batters in just 42 innings on the mound for William Woods.

For the second consecutive year - and sixth time overall - Eddie Uschold of Missouri Baptist University has been selected as the AMC Coach of the Year. Now in his 11th season at the helm of the Spartans' program, Uschold led Missouri Baptist to a 35-9 regular-season record and a 20-2 mark to win the AMC regular-season championship. Entering this year's conference post-season tournament, Uschold has collected 462 career victories.

Following is a list of the 2011 AMC Baseball All-Conference and honorable mention All-Conference team, along with the members of the 2011 AMC All-Defensive team and the 2011 AMC Academic All-Conference squad:

2011 AMC Player of the Year: Omar Artsen, Jr., IF, Missouri Baptist University
2011 AMC Pitcher of the Year: Drew Firebaugh, Sr., LHP, Missouri Baptist University
2011 AMC Newcomer Player of the Year: Derek McCawley, Jr., 1B, William Woods University
2011 AMC Newcomer Pitcher of the Year: Aaron Matula, Jr., RHP, Missouri Baptist University
2011 AMC Freshman Player of the Year: Rob Hogenkamp, SS, Harris-Stowe State University
2011 AMC Freshman Pitcher of the Year: Adam Brush, RHP, William Woods University

2011 AMC Coach of the Year: Eddie Uschold, Missouri Baptist University

First-Team All-Conference
1B - Ryan Rush, Park
2B - Omar Artsen, Missouri Baptist
3B - Kyle Clifton, Park
SS - Ryan Barban, Missouri Baptist
IF - Jacob Harrison, William Woods
OF - L.J. Watson, William Woods
OF - Tyler Muren, McKendree
OF - Cody Cobb, Park
OF - Jacob Greminger, Missouri Baptist
C - Derek Fletcher, William Woods
C - Kyle Moll, McKendree
P - Drew Firebaugh, Missouri Baptist
P - Logan Lawson, William Woods
P - Sean Woolard, Missouri Baptist
P - Gabe Perez, Park
RP - Alex Cann, William Woods
DH - Gabe Marshall, Hannibal-LaGrange

Honorable Mention All-Conference
Derek Allen, Hannibal-LaGrange
Zach Bedsworth, Hannibal-LaGrange
Clint Hamilton, Hannibal-LaGrange
Josh Jackson, Hannibal-LaGrange
Justin McGhee, Hannibal-LaGrange
Monty Cooper, Harris-Stowe
Rob Hogenkamp, Harris-Stowe
Jon Wilson, Harris-Stowe
Kraig Interial, McKendree
Tony Kossina, McKendree
Cole Wille, McKendree
Beau Baker, Missouri Baptist
Chris Coleman, Missouri Baptist
Todd Glime, Missouri Baptist
Aaron Matula, Missouri Baptist
A.J. Terrill, Missouri Baptist
David Williams, Missouri Baptist
Ricky Alfonso, Park
Derek Gordon, Park
Derek McGowan, Park
Wes Moody, Park
Jimmy Smelcer, Park
Adam Brush, William Woods
Derek McCawley, William Woods
Robbie McMorris, William Woods
Brant Radcliff, William Woods
Blake Wilson, William Woods
Mitchell Dennis, Williams Baptist
Caleb Dudley, Williams Baptist
Tyler Herring, Williams Baptist
James Mitchell, Williams Baptist
Shawn Selph, Williams Baptist

Paul Welch, Williams Baptist

2011 AMC All-Defensive Team
1B - Ryan Rush, Park
2B - Clint Hamilton, Hannibal-LaGrange
3B - Scott Krutel, Missouri Baptist
SS - Ryan Barban, Missouri Baptist
LF - Tyler Muren, McKendree
CF - Tyler Herring, Williams Baptist
RF - L.J. Watson, William Woods
C - Derek Fletcher, William Woods
P - Steve Massoth, Harris-Stowe

Derek Allen, Brandon Barnett, Eric Bruening, Denys Delgado, Johnathan Filkins, Josey Garnett, Levi Graham, Ian Hatton, Josh Jackson, Josh Krumwiede, Justin Miller, Brad Muck, Travis Mundahl, Jose Rivas, Brad Stewart, Curtis Stout, Matt Tengesdal

Timothy Buxman, Zachary Buxman, Monty Cooper, Robert Figueira, Rob Hogenkamp, Basilio Martinez Jr., Cody Ostmann, Logan Peters, Steve Schluckebier, Alexander Smith, Corey Willis, Jarrett Wilson

Lucas Blumhorst, Ronnie Calvird, Tom Collins, Daniel Corwin, Ben Dallesasse, Brad Dunnigan, Alex Frohning, Brandon Gargus, Eric Gentz, Kraig Interial, Grant Klingelhoefer, Tony Kossina, Jordan Law, Jason Leefers, Jordan Luttrell, Nolan Martz, Zane Maus, Kyle Moll, Tyler Muren, Josh Rathmann, Ryan Ryterski, Dakota Schutt, Zach Short, Jimmy Smith, Brandyn Snider, Jon Trampe, Ryan Uhe, Ryan Weber, Peter Zobel

Ryan Barban, Brad Blankenship, Jacob Greminger, Rusty Hendricks, Aaron Matula, Nathan Utt

Ricky Alfonso, Tyler Barth, Cam Challand, Chris Dameron, Philip Garrison, Trevor Hodgins, Parker Jones, Colin Letcher, Alex Mills, Jimmy Smelcer, Scott Tatro, Brad White

Alex Cann, Chris Fletcher, Derek Fletcher, Tyler Galloway, Jacob Harrison, Jon Hecht, Logan Lawson, Robbie McMorris, Jacob Motta, Tyler Phillips, Brant Radcliff, Ryan Sweet, Kyle Switzer, Stephen Thoenen, Matt Thomas, L.J. Watson, Adam Wojciechowski, Zach Woody

Josh Cook, Mitchell Dennis, Caleb Dudley, Brody Elder, Kendall Fay, Curtis Jackson, Chris Marcum, Cuyler Marty, James Mitchell, Matt Pierce, Chris Richardson, John Smith, Paul Welch